1. Received a Ticket: Failure To Yield To An Emergency Vehicle?

    In Rhode Island, when an emergency vehicle has its lights and sirens on, you must yield to that vehicle.  Failure to do so, can result in a traffic ticket being issued against you and a very significant fine.  Rhode Island General Laws 31-17-6 provides impertinent part that: “(a) Upon the immediate approach of an authorized…

    Read More

  2. What is A Laned Roadway Violation?

    In Rhode Island, a driver must use due care when making a roadway lane change.  Often times, when a police officer responds to an accident in which someone has been sideswiped by another car, the officer will issue a laned roadway violation ticket. The specific language of of the law governing this offense reads as…

    Read More

  3. How Can I Get My Traffic Ticket Dismissed?

    In Rhode Island, if you are issued a traffic ticket, you may be eligible to get that traffic ticket dismissed under the Rhode Island Good Driver Statute.  Generally, if you have not had any traffic tickets for the past three (3) years, you can ask that a court dismiss your ticket. There are some exceptions….

    Read More

  4. Received a Ticket: Conditions Requiring Reduced Speed?

    Lawyer Fights Traffic Tickets: Conditions Requiring Reduced Speed. In Rhode Island, even if you have not hit another car, you can still be ticketed by police for Conditions Requiring Reduced Speed if you lose control of your car, due to weather conditions.  This is important when it comes to your insurance rates or general liability…

    Read More

  5. Can You Still Drive If You Get A DUI?

    In Rhode Island, a DUI charge can cause problems in your everyday life.  All DUI convictions and refusal to submit to breathalyzer violations, require some type of license suspension. Like most people, you still need to get to and from such things as work, medical appointments, and school. If your license is suspended due to a…

    Read More

  6. Is Driving on a Suspended License a Criminal Offense in Rhode Island?

    The law on driving on a suspended license has recently changed in Rhode Island.  Now, if you are caught driving after your license is suspended, the law provides that you may be charged with a crime- but this is not always the case. In fact, the law has changed to make these offenses civil infractions…

    Read More

  7. Driving Under The Influence (DUI): Dismissed

    Client is arrested by the Portsmouth Police Department and charged with Driving Under the Influence (“DUI”) under Rhode Island General Laws Section 31-27-2.  If convicted, client would be subjected to the following penalties: For a first violation whose blood alcohol concentration is eight one-hundredths of one percent (.08%), but less than one-tenth of one percent (.1%), by…

    Read More

  8. $20,000 personal injury settlement for woman’s car accident

    Kilroy Law Firm secured a $20,000 personal injury settlement for a Newport, Rhode Island woman whose car was backed into by a truck. In the spring of 2016, client was driving her car south on Gibbs Avenue when a man, who was backing his truck out of a driveway into Gibbs Avenue, colliding with client.  The…

    Read More

  9. What is the Colin Foote Act, and how can it affect me?

    Litigation on Behalf of Drivers with Numerous Traffic Violations   In Rhode Island, not all traffic tickets can be resolved by simply paying a fine.  In 2010, in an effort to prevent habitual traffic violators from putting others in danger of personal injury, the state legislature passed what is known as the Colin Foote Act. Rhode Island…

    Read More

  10. Parties To Offenses: Dismissed

    Rhode Island Legal Defense for Parties to Offenses Citation Client gets cited by Rhode Island State Police for Parties to Offenses, a traffic offense under Rhode Island General Laws, section 31-27-9. If found guilty of this offense, client would receive up to a $500 fine. Police alleged that my client, after being pulled over, sped…

    Read More