Marijuana Possession Lawyer Serving all of Massachusetts and Rhode Island
How Much Marijuana Can I Possess?
Under Massachusetts law, you will be allowed to possess up to 10 ounces of marijuana in a private residence, and up to one ounce in public. You will be allowed to give up to one ounce of weed to an of-age person in public without payment. And lastly, you will be allowed to grow up to six weed plants on your property as long as the plants are out of public view. If you are caught growing marijuana in public view, it will necessitate a $300 fine.
When Does This Law Actually Go Into Effect?
Starting on December 15, 2016, anyone of at least 21 years of age can possess and consume weed. Much like alcohol, anyone under the age of 21 will not be able to legally posses or consume weed.
Where Can I Smoke Marijuana?
Under this law, it will be illegal to smoke weed in public. If caught smoking in pubic, it will necessitate a $100 fine. Local cities can also choose to further restrict where marijuana can be smoked. For instance, a city may make it also illegal to smoke weed in a school zone. Additionally, private proper owners can also ban the consumption, sale, or growth of weed on their property. There is one exception to this rule- private landlords can ban the smoking of weed on their property, however they cannot ban the consumption of weed by other means, such as edibles, etc.
When Can I start Buying Marijuana in Massachusetts?
As was mentioned above, possession of weed in Massachusetts will be legal on December 15, 2016. However, it will not be legal to sell weed in Massachusetts until January 1, 2018.
Can I Drive After Smoking Marijuana?
Just like alcohol, it will be illegal to smoke and drive. The penalties for operating a vehicle while under the influence of weed will be the same as drunk driving.
What If I Am Under 21 And Get Caught Trying To Buy Marijuana?
The penalty for buying or attempting to buy weed while under the age of 21 is a $100 fine.
Have You Been Accused of Possession Of Marijuana?
If you or a family member have been arrested in Rhode Island or cited in Massachusetts for possession of marijuana, you should hire a drug lawyer today! Call Kilroy Law Firm for your free consultation. Call or text us today at 401-855-9023.